Australian Music Prize Nominations Hit 41

The prestigious and highly-coveted Australian Music Prize continues to grow, with the list of nominated albums today hitting 41.

These albums will be joined by many more to be announced over the coming three months as 2019 draws to a close. This year’s expanded cohort of 39 judges have produced what is shaping up to be the most diverse and creative list yet including new buzz acts like Cub Sport, Thelma Plum, POND, Amyl & the Sniffers, Dope Lemon and Alex Lahey, Australian legends Jimmy Barnes, Robert Forster, The Beasts and Russell Morris and underground discoveries like Daggy Man, Sarah Mary Chadwick, Hexdebt, Squaring Circles and Vulture Street Tape Gang.

“In its fifteenth year, the Australian Music Prize has never been more vital in our music ecosystem, shining a light on the place that amazing albums hold in our industry,” said Australian Music Prize director Scott Murphy. “Our processes which this year include 39 judges from all over Australia, have listed over 400 eligible albums so far this year, which is an unbelievable nod to the amazing body of work being produced by our musicians every year.”

Featuring a judging panel of music media, retailers and artists from across Australia, The Australian Music Prize nominates the best albums of the year. Judging on artistic merit alone and with no reference to commercial success, those albums then make up the list of official nominations. At the end of the year, a shortlist of 9 albums are chosen by a smaller shortlist judging panel in an intensive in-person multi-day process, discussing the artistry of each album. After intensively listening to those 9 shortlisted albums, the judges reconvene in March to discuss and select a winner of the coveted $30,000 cash prize.

A sister to the UKs converted Mercury Prize, the Australian Music Prize is one of the world’s most respected music awards. With previous winners including Gurrumul, Sampa the Great, Courtney Barnett, Hermitude, The Jezabels, Eddy Current Suppression Ring and The Drones, the award continues to thrive with the support of the industry it serves. The 15th AMP is also increasing its consultation and inclusion across the industry to showcase the album format, shine a light on
amazing albums which may not have had the support they deserved and to celebrate great Australian albums.

For more information, pics, interviews or music, please contact your SGC Media rep

Mitch Fresta –
Emma Jones –
Alex Lahey – The Best of Luck Club
Amyl & the Sniffers – Amyl & the Sniffers [NEW]
Andrea Keller – Transients Volume 1
Art of Fighting – Luna Low [NEW]
Batts – The Grand Tour [NEW]
Bench Press – Not the Past, Can’t Be the Future [NEW]
Black Lung – The Great Manipulator [NEW]
Charlie Collins – Snowpine
Cub Sport – Cub Sport
Daggy Man – I’m Going To Love As Long As I Live
Dispossessed – Warpath Never Ended
Dope Lemon – Smooth Big Cat [NEW]
Emma Russack – Winter Blues
Ferla – It’s Personal [NEW]
Gold Fields – Dalawa [NEW]
Hatchie – Keepsake
Hexdebt – Rule Of Four [NEW]
Huntly – Low Grade Buzz [NEW]
I Know Leopard – Love Is A Landmine [NEW]
Jess Ribeiro – Love Hate
Jimmy Barnes – My Criminal Record [NEW]
Julia Jacklin – Crushing
King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – Fishing for Fishies
Mansionair – Shadowboxer
Martin Frawley – Undone At 31
Methyl Ethel – Triage
Olympia – Flamingo
Polish Club – Iguana
Pond – Tasmania [NEW]
Robert Forster – Inferno [NEW]
Russell Morris – Black & Blue Heart [NEW]
Ry X – Unfurl [NEW]
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Queen Who Stole The Sky [NEW]
Squaring Circles – Motion [NEW]
Stella Donnelly – Beware of the Dogs
Sunbeam Sound Machine – Goodness Gracious
The Beasts – Still Here [NEW]
The Money War – Home [NEW]
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak
Two People – First Body
Vulture St. Tape Gang – More Mature Themes For
Childish People [NEW]
+ More to come

Be first to comment