Grant McLennan Fellowship open for applications

For the last eight years Queensland musicians have been vying for the prestigious $25,000 Grant McLennan Fellowship.

The fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

QMusic today announced that applications are open for the 2015 Fellowship which is jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and the Australian Performing Rights Association (APRA AMCOS).

Founded in 2007 to honour the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The 2014 winner, Thomas Calder, of burgeoning Brisbane outfit The Trouble With Templeton, says London was the perfect place to base himself.

” [It’s] an incredibly inspiring and enlivening city,” he said.

“The people, places, and experiences I’ve had are ones I’ll never forget, and have all affected the music I’m writing in a hugely positive way.”

APRA AMCOS Head of Member Services Dean Ormston, says APRA AMCOS is pleased to continue support for the 2015 Grant McLennan Fellowship.

“As a songwriter, being able to immerse yourself in another country and culture is an invaluable experience. The Grant McLennan Fellowship provides Queensland songwriters with this fantastic opportunity,” Ormston said.

Applications open today for individual songwriters and songwriting duos and close 31 August. Please check eligibility requirements and guidelines before applying.
Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been;
2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly (pictured) and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles

Get more at

Be first to comment